Buying stuff from the States...

• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 _Rally hatch_

_Rally hatch_
  • Guests

Posted 04 November 2007 - 08:24 PM

Im thinking about buying some stuff from the U.S. I've never done it before and would like to know whats involved......... :blink:

Do I need to pay duty? Do I need to contact customs?

Or is it just a matter of them posting it to me???? :rockon:

#2 _Flamenco_

_Flamenco_
  • Guests

Posted 04 November 2007 - 08:27 PM

Depends what sorts of things you are bringing in... I've got lots of stuff from ebay from the states - steering wheels/interior materials etc without any problems...

#3 _Duck05_

_Duck05_
  • Guests

Posted 04 November 2007 - 08:30 PM

Hey Rally hatch,
Depends on what your buying mate?? I buy some stuff, all small enough to be posted from the USA including some car parts and just get it all mailed to me, I have had no issues. Just make sure you trust the person in the uSA your dealing with, and if you are unsure about them DONT deal with them. Stick to the well known..

Regards
Duck05

#4 _Yella SLuR_

_Yella SLuR_
  • Guests

Posted 04 November 2007 - 08:30 PM

Have a search, there was a previous post on this very story. Toranamat69 is your man, he's imported stuff for his LT5.

#5 _2wild4u_

_2wild4u_
  • Guests

Posted 04 November 2007 - 08:37 PM

ive brought alot of stuff from america, normally anything over $300 you have to declare and then you get charged import tax, unless they write on the package that its only worth $200 or whatever, problem with that is they can only insure it for $200 on postage, so if it goes missing, tuff luck

#6 _Rally hatch_

_Rally hatch_
  • Guests

Posted 04 November 2007 - 08:43 PM

Just had a look a the customs site, from what I can gather if it is less than $1000 value, and not booze or cigs. Then you don't need to pay duties etc..

Just for the record I'm thinking about buying a carby.

Aust Customs