Jump to content


HQ stud pattern, Commodore wheels


  • Please log in to reply
121 replies to this topic

#76 Bomber Watson

Bomber Watson

    Not nearly as smart as Lazarus

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,583 posts
  • Name:DJ
  • Location:Rockhampton, the exact center of my own TINY universe. Also the home of the worlds longest location.
  • Car:Mixed fleet of Taxi's and hair dresser mobiles.
  • Joined: 07-November 05

Posted 03 July 2014 - 10:26 PM

Yes. 

 

Cheers. 



#77 dattoman

dattoman

    Do I feel lucky? Well, do ya, punk?

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,866 posts
  • Name:Neil
  • Location:Perth Western Australia
  • Car:LX SS , LH sedan, 76 Cadillac , 3 x dattos
  • Joined: 04-February 07

Posted 03 July 2014 - 11:51 PM

Its feasible

 

The reason its a no - no under most circumstances is because people use the wrong studs and centre hole size

Not to mention stupid offsets with no dish



#78 76lxhatch

76lxhatch

    That was easy!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,775 posts
  • Location:Unzud
  • Car:SS
  • Joined: 04-August 08
Garage View Garage

Posted 04 July 2014 - 07:18 AM

You would also need to make sure that the splined shank of the wheel studs differ similarly in diameter, they are often not the same size as the thread. Generally newer ones are likely to be larger so shouldn't be an issue when upgrading to larger studs.

I'm not sure why you would want to put Commodore stud pattern on an HQ rotor on a Torana though, then you'd have to run Commodore wheels with unsuitable offset? Would be a much more useful proposition for adapting larger Commodore brakes by fitting bigger 1/2" studs to get it back to HQ pattern.

#79 Lazarus

Lazarus

    Lazarus

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,130 posts
  • Name:Mark
  • Location:Central QueensIand
  • Car:UC Sedan
  • Joined: 28-May 13

Posted 04 July 2014 - 06:26 PM

Yes I thought of that today. I will buy some Commodore studs first and give one to the machinist. But the shank has to be larger than the thread so I am assuming the percentage will be similar. 

 

I have a set of VP Calais IRS wheels for my UC. Offset is 28P.

 

I will check the spigot hole to HZ rotor and see what needs to be done there too. Wheels are alloy so not sure if they were originally a tight fit.



#80 _cruisindoug_

_cruisindoug_
  • Guests

Posted 16 July 2014 - 07:47 PM

Main reason I would consider redrilling HQ to Commodore would be to match the VL diff going into my ute ... good point about the offsets though, can anyone tell me what the standard offset on a HQ was???

 

Cheers

 

Doug



#81 Lazarus

Lazarus

    Lazarus

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,130 posts
  • Name:Mark
  • Location:Central QueensIand
  • Car:UC Sedan
  • Joined: 28-May 13

Posted 16 July 2014 - 09:33 PM

Around 13P I think you'll find.

 

BMW have a range of offsets and sizes in Commodore pattern. Not sure of spigot hole diameter off-hand but there is heaps of info on European wheels out there.

 

 

 

ps. My VP centre holes are too small so I will get the HQ discs machined there as well.

 

 

.


Edited by Lazarus, 16 July 2014 - 09:41 PM.


#82 _cruisindoug_

_cruisindoug_
  • Guests

Posted 17 July 2014 - 07:39 PM

Thanks for that should be able to work something out I reckon ...



#83 _evilstuie_

_evilstuie_
  • Guests

Posted 19 July 2014 - 05:55 PM

Hi Guys,

 

I'm in a similar predicament with my wheels. I've got an '85 Pontiac TransAM with the same WB/HQ stud pattern and offset, and running 15" x7.5" and tyres are starting to become expensive.

 

The other issue is that while these cars usually look better with 14's & 15's, the wheel arches on these cars just have a rediculous gap, even with lowered koni suspension.

 

I've got a set of adapters to convert from HQ/WB stud/hub to VE commodore, and I'm now looking for a set of VE 18" rims to put on it and see if the fitment/look suits, but I'm still having issue trying to convert US offsets and aussie offsets which seem to be in +/- mm offsets as opposed to the inch backspacing the yanks use.

 

Can someone tell me the difference between the HQ offset and VE offsets?

looking at a post on the pontiac forums:

15x8" - fronts  0mm offset front rims/4.25" of backspacing. The positive 16mm rear rims (16mm/25.4 = 0.63")/4.9" of backspacing.

I have 1" spacer/adapters with VE hub conversion btw
 



#84 Dr Terry

Dr Terry

    Technical + Numbers Guru + Moderator

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,933 posts
  • Location:Eastwood (Sydney) NSW
  • Joined: 13-November 05

Posted 24 July 2014 - 05:22 PM

Wheel hub adaptors are not road legal AFAIK, in NSW anyhow.

 

Dr Terry



#85 ls2lxhatch

ls2lxhatch

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,261 posts
  • Location:Perth
  • Car:LX Hatch
  • Joined: 29-May 06

Posted 24 July 2014 - 05:37 PM

There is an article on wheel adaptors and spacers in the Street Machine Dec 2006 issue page 127. They reported that unless there were a factory option, wheel adaptors and spacers are illegal in all states and territories.

 

Personally I would not trust an adaptor bought on eBay. If you do loose a wheel and have an accident then your insurance company will have to option of refusing the claim. 



#86 Lazarus

Lazarus

    Lazarus

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,130 posts
  • Name:Mark
  • Location:Central QueensIand
  • Car:UC Sedan
  • Joined: 28-May 13

Posted 24 July 2014 - 09:50 PM

Some of the performance wheels from the States come in Ford or Chev offset and dual stud pattern. Ford (pre AU) is about 8mm more than Chev / HQ so you would still be legal with a fraction more dish and track.

 

Or get some of those GTS style Long Beach Customs in a 17 X 8.5 or 9" width and they should fill your guards ok.

 

 

.


Edited by Lazarus, 24 July 2014 - 09:51 PM.


#87 Bomber Watson

Bomber Watson

    Not nearly as smart as Lazarus

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,583 posts
  • Name:DJ
  • Location:Rockhampton, the exact center of my own TINY universe. Also the home of the worlds longest location.
  • Car:Mixed fleet of Taxi's and hair dresser mobiles.
  • Joined: 07-November 05

Posted 24 July 2014 - 09:55 PM

Yep, options are so plentiful now days, its not worth trying to adapt hubs. 



#88 _slick50_

_slick50_
  • Guests

Posted 23 August 2015 - 04:23 PM

I got out my shovel and dug this thread up as I have a question.

 

Has anyone tried or inquired about the DBA 014X front HQ discs as they have a 120 PCD not the HQ standard 120.65?



#89 dattoman

dattoman

    Do I feel lucky? Well, do ya, punk?

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,866 posts
  • Name:Neil
  • Location:Perth Western Australia
  • Car:LX SS , LH sedan, 76 Cadillac , 3 x dattos
  • Joined: 04-February 07

Posted 23 August 2015 - 06:13 PM

Someones telling you stories

DBA014X is HQ pattern

Drilled and slotted rotor



#90 _cruisindoug_

_cruisindoug_
  • Guests

Posted 22 March 2017 - 03:00 PM

Hey everyone long time no see, been busy doing stuff. Just for those that may be contemplating, the HQ to Commodore re-drill is possible, I have done it to my ute after a fair bit of trial and error. As others have said, not necessarily a preferred option, but worked out well for me. Cost around $100 to get the re-drill and machining for the center spigot done (per rotor), and about $50 for the new studs. Opened up some options for wheel choice, but was restricted somewhat by the tie rod ends in the end. Settled on a set of Group A Walkinshaw wheels, happy with the look.

 

Also upgraded the brakes to a full twin master cylinder and dual diaphragm booster, all hidden away under the tray. Very nice pedal feel now and stops very well since the car is so light.

 

Attached File  WP_20160310_18_00_02_Pro.jpg   84.77K   1 downloads

 

Attached File  WP_20160310_18_00_36_Pro.jpg   76.75K   1 downloads

 

Was some extra machining involved to clear the centre caps of the Walkinshaw Wheels:

Attached File  WP_20160118_17_20_09_Pro.jpg   70.33K   2 downloads

 

All out of sight, through the floor pedal retained so still looks stock from inside:)

Attached File  WP_20160301_14_24_32_Pro.jpg   112.3K   2 downloads

 

VL Commodore disc brake rear

Attached File  WP_20160319_15_41_49_Pro.jpg   103.45K   2 downloads

 

Confused the wheel alignment place, they knew they were HQ rotors but couldn't work out why the Commodore wheels fitted properly - they saw the machining for the centre spigot but couldn't pick quite how I'd done the studs.

Attached File  WP_20160310_16_38_37_Pro.jpg   87.64K   4 downloads

 

Next project is to replace the Trimatic with a 5 speed, since I've blown up another one ...

 

Cheers

 

Doug



#91 _cruisindoug_

_cruisindoug_
  • Guests

Posted 22 March 2017 - 03:06 PM

On the subject of the Walkinshaw wheels, I want to put them on my van to match the Ute, does anyone know of a electric trailer brake that will accept them (they need a disc brake rear on a car not drums) The spokes foul on the outer edge of the drum brakes generally. Are wheel spacers legal on a trailer / caravan? If the spacer were welded to a drum would they still be considered a spacer???? Obviously would need longer studs and so on ...

 

Cheers

 

Doug



#92 warrenm

warrenm

    Forum Fixture

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,913 posts
  • Location:Central West NSW
  • Car:1972 LJ Torana
  • Joined: 08-November 05
Garage View Garage

Posted 23 March 2017 - 06:26 AM

If it is welded it is no longer a spacer, it is part of the drum/disc.



#93 _cruisindoug_

_cruisindoug_
  • Guests

Posted 03 May 2017 - 03:34 PM

Cool thanks for that it was what I thought.

 

Cheers



#94 el_jay_72

el_jay_72

    Forum Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 402 posts
  • Name:Jason Smith
  • Location:Perth WA
  • Car:LJ Sedan
  • Joined: 01-January 08

Posted 30 October 2017 - 10:13 PM

So digging up an old thread again. I am wondering if commodore stockies can be drilled out to suit hq stud pattern?

There are some wheels advertised as hq stud pattern but they are definitely 15” commodore wheels and I wasn’t sure of how they could be hq stud pattern

e0239eb84cc1ae60a5f5382b9ac99062.jpg


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#95 Marks LXTorana

Marks LXTorana

    Forum Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 151 posts
  • Name:Mark Grovenor
  • Location:Sydney NSW
  • Car:LX Torana
  • Joined: 16-December 12

Posted 19 June 2020 - 06:14 PM

This seems the best place to submit my query to the collective brains trust!

I have had my 2/77 LX Torana for about 6 years and I have never stuffed around with the front end because it is soooo goood! It handles, corners, nil bump steer, and keeps the wheels planted. BUT I have always been worried that the original B45 Simmons wheels don't match the PCD exactly. Can anyone tell me from the photo if this would represent the difference between 120mm studs and 120.65 wheel PCD?

If so, can I readily change the rotors to the larger PCD with everything else remaining the same? What would I be ordering; HQ rotors?

I don't want to change the wheels as these are my all time ever favourite wheel.

 

Attached Files



#96 neglectedtorana

neglectedtorana

    Forum Fixture

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 668 posts
  • Name:Tom
  • Location:Sydney
  • Car:LX Torana Sunbird
  • Joined: 06-March 12

Posted 19 June 2020 - 06:44 PM

Hi Mark,

 

I don't know the answer to your question, I do see what you mean about the wheel nuts not looking centred and as it looks like they are all closer to the centre it could make sens as the Commodore pcd is small.

I would guess there is some sort of serial number on the Simmons centres and if you called Tempe Tyres they might be able to i.d. the pcd.

Just an idea.

 

Good luck

 

Cheers, Tom



#97 yel327

yel327

    Oh My, Don't you post alot

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,739 posts
  • Joined: 10-February 08

Posted 19 June 2020 - 06:44 PM

Not sure what you mean that we can tell by the photos?

I assume those are HQ rotors which will be 4.75” PCD which is 120.65mm. Are the wheels 120mm? Just buy new HQ rotors drilled to 120mm. Probably from Hoppers.

From the photo though it looks the other way around, like the wheels are HQ 4.75” and the studs are 120mm?

What about the rears?

Edited by yel327, 19 June 2020 - 06:47 PM.


#98 76lxhatch

76lxhatch

    That was easy!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,775 posts
  • Location:Unzud
  • Car:SS
  • Joined: 04-August 08
Garage View Garage

Posted 19 June 2020 - 07:51 PM

A close up on the wheel fitted with a single nut removed may help, the wheels obviously have clearance machined around the nut that is offset (probably because the nuts are so close to the centre) which makes it look a little odd, but we can't see the tapered seat itself. If it wasn't right you'd also see uneven wear on the inside or outside only of all seats in the wheel.



#99 dattoman

dattoman

    Do I feel lucky? Well, do ya, punk?

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,866 posts
  • Name:Neil
  • Location:Perth Western Australia
  • Car:LX SS , LH sedan, 76 Cadillac , 3 x dattos
  • Joined: 04-February 07

Posted 19 June 2020 - 08:11 PM

If you are buying new rotors... I would do the following

 

Buy DBA014 undrilled rotors (I like slotted... but not drilled)

Same as you have but no holes and no studs

Then I'd take one wheel and the new rotors to an engineering shop and have them drill the rotors to suit the wheels

I'd also fit half inch studs... or at least 12mm commodore metric ones

Just means getting new studs and nuts... not a biggie in the scheme of things

 

Then you know the stud pattern matches the wheels

And for how often you replace rotors... not really an issue about having to do it again in 10 years.



#100 yel327

yel327

    Oh My, Don't you post alot

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,739 posts
  • Joined: 10-February 08

Posted 19 June 2020 - 08:18 PM

Do you get the caliper hitting on full lock? I remember when I first put Holden rotors on my LX I put HQ calipers at the back like you have and they hit on full lock. Only choice was to fit UC calipers on the front with Holden carriers and UC steering arms. I changed to a full UC front end in at the same time. I couldn’t get A9X calipers at the time.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users