308 inlet manifold and water pump

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 _holdon_

_holdon_
  • Guests

Posted 18 March 2010 - 01:40 PM

Im connecting up to my inlet manifold and im stumped as to what outlet connection is what.....

Im new to the v8s so this has me confused..

There are 3 along the front - 1 on the drivers side and 2 on the passengers.

Are these all water? any air? which one is for the temp sensor and what do the others do??

Also - i have 2 outlets on the water pump and another 2 on the thermostate/top radiator hose outlet. I take it the ones on the water pump are the for the heater but what are the 2 on the thermostate/radiator hose outlet for?

If anyone can help that would be great!!

#2 76lxhatch

76lxhatch

That was easy!

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,153 posts
  • Car:SS
Garage View Garage

Posted 18 March 2010 - 01:49 PM

The connections on the thermostat housing supply hot water regardless of the thermostat being open or closed, these go to the heater and water heated manifold (if you have one). The connections on the top of the water pump are for the returns, i.e. the water comes back from the heater here.

The manifold holes at the front will go into the water jacket and are for the temp sensor (usually just this, extras can be blocked off). You will notice these are all on the same runner at the front which the thermostat housing is mounted on, this transfers water from one head to the other. If your manifold is water heated then you will see two more water connections, one either side of the carb. Any other small tapped holes are likely in the intake runners and will be for vacuum connections - brake booster etc.

#3 _holdon_

_holdon_
  • Guests

Posted 18 March 2010 - 02:24 PM

Great thanks.

I have a standard holden manifold. Are these water heated?