LX brake booster upgrade + hydraulic clutch

• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 _Azza_

_Azza_
  • Guests

Posted 26 April 2010 - 01:13 AM

G'day.

I'm no expert with this stuff, that's why I have come to seek everybody's wisdom.

Well to start with, can someone please tell me what these boosters are from? I think I know what they are except for the one on the left which I think may be from a HG ute? The little blue one is from my old 202 LX. The one just to the left of the blue one I think was the V8 one that came out of my LX. And the one on the far right I am pretty sure is another LX one that I had as a spare..

My boosters have been sitting around for 3 years. Is there any parts inside that deteriorate from not being used? Want to know if I would need to have them rebuilt if they can be? Or if they would be ok to use?

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

I want to get rid of the ugly proportioning valve (pretty sure that is the name of it) from the brake setup. I did a bit of searching on here and found someone who said the LH/LX booster can be modified to suit the UC master cylinder (that has no proportioning valve??) by fitting a Commodore 45 degree cover? Also on my searching, I found a bunch of guys who are using a VT commodore master cylinder as an upgrade on there VL commodore boosters? I'm not sure of the workings and benefits of a VT master cylinder over a UC torana one, but would that be a better option if I could fit it?

This is a link to the guide to fit a VT Master onto a VL booster

Here is a photo of a VT master cylinder onto a VL booster:

Posted Image

Ok so thats the brakes sorted, now I need some hydraulic clutch advice.