The Render Garage

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 12,396 posts
  • Name:Matt
  • Car:355 LX Hatchback, DeLorean DMC-12, LX SS Hatch, VY Cross8 Crewman

Posted 26 July 2010 - 01:17 PM

Hey Guys,

We bought a VT for Maddy a few months back... We bought it cheap, knowing it had a cracked head or head gasket.

I replaced the heads and got it running again all sweet, thinking i had fixed the problem and we would now have a good car! How wrong was I!

The car would randomly shoot up to boiling then back down to normal, we initially thought that we had air-bubbles in the system, and it needed to be bled... I'm now an expert in bleeding these systems!! It still overheated randomly.

We put a new thermostat in, and i tested it in a boiling pot of water with a thermometer. All good! - Installed - No change... Still overheats.

At this point, I gave up and handballed it over to Maddy's dad to look at.

He found a leak from one of the hoses that he fixed and re-bled the system.... Still overheats!! When he had it up on Stands, he found that the pass floor was wet and coolant was leaking from what looked to be the Heater core! We thought this had to be the problem! Because when the car would overheat, the heater would go cold... It made sense!! So Maddy booked it in and had the core changed (and the A/C was also stuffed so that was fixed as well...) $1000 Later STILL frOckING OVERHEATS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We thought the core was the problem, and it fooled us for 3-4 days before overheating again.

So, over the weekend I did more tests... We noted that after everytime it was 'hot' we were able to add almost 2L of water to the system... So with a full radiator, i drove it till it got warm, then parked it at home running... After a few minutes, At least 500mls of coolant overflowed out of the overflow bottle. I took the bottle out and checked for cracks... No cracks it was all good...