My engine build, please look over my shoulder [4 Banger]

• Please log in to reply
66 replies to this topic

#1 _Viper_

_Viper_
  • Guests

Posted 03 December 2011 - 11:00 PM

Hey guys, Im just starting my new engine build... Ive built a couple motors before which are still going strong but this is my first serious motor.

The guys from my Gemini forum have also asked me to do a writeup of how to build a motor, Im no pro and just know what ive learnt from books/dvds and forums so id also like to post up what ive done on here and hopefully you can confirm im doing it right and point out anything ive missed or plain out doing wrong. Im open to any criticism and suggestions.

Ok firstly here is the full specs.

Isuzu 4ZE1 2.6L Straight 4 Single OHC
Block crack & sonic tested, Line hones, Bored & Torque plate honed, decked
Stock 10/10 Crank, Stock Main bolts, King bearings
Spool forged rods with ARP2000 bolts
Custom forged JE pistons designed to suit turbo, Ceramic coated crowns and low friction coated skirts
All balanced
Head ported by Shaun from CHT (Previously Allports)
Head Studs
Custom Cam, 44mm Inlets, 40mm exhaust
Custom Individual Runner exhaust manifold
GT30/76 Garret Turbo
Custom Intake manifold

Ok here goes, Ill write it here as If I was writing a how-to write up.

Got your freshly machined block back from the Machine shop.They would have hot-tanked it and removed all the old paint and rust scale for you. If your just doing a Re-ring or only painting the block and its not being hot-tanked then just make sure you give it a really good clean/degrease and wire brush off any loose paint/corrosion.

Mount it onto a Engine stand and you should have something like this:
Posted Image

Its up to you if you grind the exterior smooth and paint it in full gloss 2-pak but I think the Gloss enamel from a Can looks just fine, its hidden under manifolds and turbos anyway so meh, I doubt anyone had even noticed the current block in my Coupe is white.