Jump to content


Photo

202 Red oil pressure


  • Please log in to reply
46 replies to this topic

#1 202Corona

202Corona

    Forum Participant

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 49 posts
  • Name:cam
  • Location:queensland
  • Car:Corona xt130
  • Joined: 26-October 13

Posted 21 December 2013 - 01:15 PM

So i wack a oil pressure guage on the port near the oil pump. Crank it and nothing not a blip.

I think oh shit what now. Pull the pump off and double check its moving ect and pack it full of grease to prime it.

Put it back on and even fil the filter with oil. Crank it and still nothing. I removed the filter and cranked it and i can see oil coming out.

Is there a valve in the pump that could be stuck?



#2 Bomber Watson

Bomber Watson

    Future Moderators of Australia - Cadet

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,260 posts
  • Name:DJ
  • Location:Rockhampton, the exact center of my own TINY universe. Also the home of the worlds longest location.
  • Car:Mixed fleet of Taxi's and hair dresser mobiles.
  • Joined: 07-November 05

Posted 21 December 2013 - 01:38 PM

I wouldnt be overly worried if it doesnt get pressure while cranking, so long as it comes up quickly when it actually kicks in.



#3 202Corona

202Corona

    Forum Participant

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 49 posts
  • Name:cam
  • Location:queensland
  • Car:Corona xt130
  • Joined: 26-October 13

Posted 21 December 2013 - 01:41 PM

nope. i get no pressure when it runs either . Iam thinking the pump is fubar



#4 Bomber Watson

Bomber Watson

    Future Moderators of Australia - Cadet

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,260 posts
  • Name:DJ
  • Location:Rockhampton, the exact center of my own TINY universe. Also the home of the worlds longest location.
  • Car:Mixed fleet of Taxi's and hair dresser mobiles.
  • Joined: 07-November 05

Posted 21 December 2013 - 01:44 PM

Ah, ok.

 

Could be the pump, a quick strip down and measure up will let you know if its serviceable. Make sure the gear that drives it is good and the cotter pin is installed.

 

Could also be the oil pickup sucking air.

 

Or could be some larger issue in the block.

 

Or it could be a kink in your oil pressure guage line, stopping the guage from working if its mechanical.

 

Or it could have no oil in the sump :P

 

Cheers. 



#5 202Corona

202Corona

    Forum Participant

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 49 posts
  • Name:cam
  • Location:queensland
  • Car:Corona xt130
  • Joined: 26-October 13

Posted 21 December 2013 - 02:20 PM

how much oil should they have? About 5ltr



#6 202Corona

202Corona

    Forum Participant

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 49 posts
  • Name:cam
  • Location:queensland
  • Car:Corona xt130
  • Joined: 26-October 13

Posted 21 December 2013 - 02:34 PM

 I should see some kind of pressure when cranking it shoudn't . I have oil flow from the oil pressure switch port but i suspects its not enough to give me pressure reading



#7 Agent 34

Agent 34

    Forum Fixture

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,085 posts
  • Name:grant
  • Location:the man cave
  • Car:" Lucky " the lime green metalic 72 GTR" and " Rocket the NOT so GTR or XU1" 73 S Pack
  • Joined: 17-May 10
Garage View Garage

Posted 21 December 2013 - 02:38 PM

6 pints for motor

1.5 pints when changing filter

 

a pint equates to 900 ml.

 

so 7.5 pints which is about somewhere about 6.75 ltr .

 

just have checked the book and i think that you need to make an allowance for the oil filter as they are listed different points in the book.

 

G



#8 S pack

S pack

    Forum Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,874 posts
  • Name:Dave
  • Location:Brisbane Northside
  • Car:73 LJ
  • Joined: 25-January 10

Posted 21 December 2013 - 02:52 PM

Is this the first start up of a fresh engine or just an old engine?



#9 202Corona

202Corona

    Forum Participant

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 49 posts
  • Name:cam
  • Location:queensland
  • Car:Corona xt130
  • Joined: 26-October 13

Posted 21 December 2013 - 03:00 PM

I drained the oil and got 3ltr out of it and put 4ltr back in. I would of thought this would be enough to give me some kind of oil pressure reading or not?

Or are 202's that picky on oil levels



#10 GASPOWER

GASPOWER

    CABIN Engine Controls

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,708 posts
  • Name:Dave I
  • Location:Perth
  • Car:69 LC RAT
  • Joined: 08-December 12

Posted 21 December 2013 - 03:02 PM

hope it is not on the suction side of the pump, any picture please Cam.



#11 202Corona

202Corona

    Forum Participant

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 49 posts
  • Name:cam
  • Location:queensland
  • Car:Corona xt130
  • Joined: 26-October 13

Posted 21 December 2013 - 03:03 PM

Its an old engine with a new head. Its been sitting for at least a month. Ive replaced the sump and pick up with a hk (mid hump sump). The pick up was clean and i mae sure of it. Iam getting oil to the sender but dont think its a strong flow. So iam thinking the pump is flogged out

 

Iam taking the reading from the oil pressure switch port


Edited by 202Corona, 21 December 2013 - 03:03 PM.


#12 Bomber Watson

Bomber Watson

    Future Moderators of Australia - Cadet

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,260 posts
  • Name:DJ
  • Location:Rockhampton, the exact center of my own TINY universe. Also the home of the worlds longest location.
  • Car:Mixed fleet of Taxi's and hair dresser mobiles.
  • Joined: 07-November 05

Posted 21 December 2013 - 03:14 PM

Ah, ok.

 

Could be the pump, a quick strip down and measure up will let you know if its serviceable. Make sure the gear that drives it is good and the cotter pin is installed.

 

Could also be the oil pickup sucking air.

 

Or could be some larger issue in the block.

 

Or it could be a kink in your oil pressure guage line, stopping the guage from working if its mechanical.

 

Or it could have no oil in the sump :P

 

Cheers. 

 

 

So it has oil in the sump, what about the rest?

 

When you fitted the new pickup did you check it thoroughly for cracks as well?

 

Cheers. 



#13 202Corona

202Corona

    Forum Participant

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 49 posts
  • Name:cam
  • Location:queensland
  • Car:Corona xt130
  • Joined: 26-October 13

Posted 21 December 2013 - 03:17 PM

 When i was cleaning it i fill the tube with degreaser to leave for a few hours(blocked the tube and turned it upside down) and nothing leaked for about 30mins

So it has oil in the sump, what about the rest?

 

When you fitted the new pickup did you check it thoroughly for cracks as well?

 

Cheers. 



#14 202Corona

202Corona

    Forum Participant

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 49 posts
  • Name:cam
  • Location:queensland
  • Car:Corona xt130
  • Joined: 26-October 13

Posted 21 December 2013 - 03:23 PM

 What are the service specs of the bump.

Ah, ok.

 

Could be the pump, a quick strip down and measure up will let you know if its serviceable. Make sure the gear that drives it is good and the cotter pin is installed.

 

Could also be the oil pickup sucking air.

 

Or could be some larger issue in the block.

 

Or it could be a kink in your oil pressure guage line, stopping the guage from working if its mechanical.

 

Or it could have no oil in the sump :P

 

Cheers. 



#15 madtoranajzedded

madtoranajzedded

    Forum Fixture

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 593 posts
  • Name:mazda
  • Location:tas
  • Car:lj 4 door
  • Joined: 30-September 13

Posted 21 December 2013 - 03:38 PM

oil filter on correct,as in ive seen em run out of thread and suck air



#16 Bomber Watson

Bomber Watson

    Future Moderators of Australia - Cadet

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,260 posts
  • Name:DJ
  • Location:Rockhampton, the exact center of my own TINY universe. Also the home of the worlds longest location.
  • Car:Mixed fleet of Taxi's and hair dresser mobiles.
  • Joined: 07-November 05

Posted 21 December 2013 - 03:42 PM

This help?

 

E5A660BE-B56C-4876-92D4-A6D47B512C92-208

 

Cheers. 



#17 202Corona

202Corona

    Forum Participant

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 49 posts
  • Name:cam
  • Location:queensland
  • Car:Corona xt130
  • Joined: 26-October 13

Posted 21 December 2013 - 03:48 PM

thats perfect cheers



#18 S pack

S pack

    Forum Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,874 posts
  • Name:Dave
  • Location:Brisbane Northside
  • Car:73 LJ
  • Joined: 25-January 10

Posted 21 December 2013 - 03:48 PM

Its an old engine with a new head. Its been sitting for at least a month. Ive replaced the sump and pick up with a hk (mid hump sump). The pick up was clean and i mae sure of it. Iam getting oil to the sender but dont think its a strong flow. So iam thinking the pump is flogged out

 

Iam taking the reading from the oil pressure switch port

So you've had the engine running for a very brief period of time and still not getting any oil pressure reading on the gauge?



#19 202Corona

202Corona

    Forum Participant

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 49 posts
  • Name:cam
  • Location:queensland
  • Car:Corona xt130
  • Joined: 26-October 13

Posted 21 December 2013 - 04:09 PM

yes



#20 robslxhatch

robslxhatch

    Forum Fixture

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 655 posts
  • Name:Rob
  • Location:central coast NSW
  • Car:lx hatch
  • Joined: 11-November 09

Posted 21 December 2013 - 04:45 PM

You can diagnose a cracked/leaking oil pick up by over filling the sump to the point where the entire pick up is submerged in oil ( I recon 7-8 litres should be enough??) if you suddenly get oil pressure than there is a leak in the oil pick up somewhere. This happened on a mate of mines v8 and thats how he diagnosed it.



#21 v6 torana

v6 torana

    Forum Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 169 posts
  • Location:NSW
  • Joined: 17-January 12

Posted 21 December 2013 - 05:01 PM

I assume you had oil pressure before you changed the sump & pickup.

 

If this is the case, there must be an issue with the HK pickup.



#22 202Corona

202Corona

    Forum Participant

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 49 posts
  • Name:cam
  • Location:queensland
  • Car:Corona xt130
  • Joined: 26-October 13

Posted 21 December 2013 - 05:06 PM

 never seen this engine run. Ive sourced another pump a JP highflow pump for $100 i'll wack that on 2morow and if its still no go then sump is coming off



#23 barana

barana

    Forum Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 138 posts
  • Name:barana
  • Location:noosa
  • Car:have owned HB II LC4 UC UC SL
  • Joined: 23-February 12

Posted 21 December 2013 - 06:38 PM

Does the pickup have a gasket? Cant remember on a holden 6

#24 S pack

S pack

    Forum Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,874 posts
  • Name:Dave
  • Location:Brisbane Northside
  • Car:73 LJ
  • Joined: 25-January 10

Posted 21 December 2013 - 08:10 PM

Does the pickup have a gasket? Cant remember on a holden 6

No.

Red, blue, black 6 have a flared union connection.



#25 Muzzy

Muzzy

    Forum Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 193 posts
  • Name:Brian
  • Location:Dubbo
  • Car:Lh
  • Joined: 29-October 13

Posted 21 December 2013 - 08:13 PM

If the engine was running ok before, and all that has changed is the pick up, then there's the problems
My holden book quotes 310kpa max oil pressure @. 1500




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users