Gilly's LX Torana Sedan Project

• Please log in to reply
45 replies to this topic

#1 _Gilly91_

_Gilly91_
  • Guests

Posted 02 April 2014 - 05:48 PM

Hi everyone,

I'm a fairly new member but a long time Torana lover. I've finally bought myself an 1977 LX SL to turn into an SLR mock up with an EFI V8, and I'm going to start a build thread to show you all what I'm doing and to get much needed advice along the way. It is my first project and I'm going to need a lot of your help haha!

Here are some pictures of it. It has a 202 in it which runs apparently. I had a crack at wiring it up to get it going but had less than no idea what to do with the birds nest of wires under the dash that someone has cut to hotwire it so that's a project for another time. It also has a supra 5 speed and I'm pretty sure everything else is stock except the fact the rear guards are rolled to fit bigger tyres in. The interior is pretty limited; its got two front seats, some door cards, and some of the dash haha. There is a random hole cut in the boot firewall too...probably for a sub, and that along with the other dings and stuff in that firewall will need to be fixed. (Sorry if the photos are big)

IMG_3044_zps4ed6428d.jpg

IMG_3060_zpsa9c0f5bb.jpg

_575_zps5678b673.jpg

_5710_zpsbd4d19b4.jpg

Let us know what you think! 

Also, the big debate I'm having with myself is whether to put a 304ci Holden in it or go straight to the LS1. I know the LS1 will require a lot of things to be replaced but that's fine. I've found a wrecked VX SS with a 140xxx km LS1 in it for under $4000. Would this be a good option?? Would I be able to get brakes, diff, and exhaust parts out of it and use them too?

Throw some questions/suggestions/opinions at me!

Cheers

#2 _Gilly91_

_Gilly91_
  • Guests

Posted 02 April 2014 - 06:03 PM

I should probably give a run down of the plans for it so you can have a better idea of what I'm doing

Body: