• PipPipPipPip
  • 390 posts
  • Name:Mitch
  • Car:Lh torana

Posted 22 March 2018 - 10:41 PM

Hi Guys
Im after some advice/help
I brought my first torana last week.
Its an lh sedan. Has previously been done like an slr 5000 with flares and rear spoiler.
Ive had a guy i know look at the car and he tells me it has the l34 rear 10bolt diff and its also got disc brakes all around.
It also had the lip cut from inside the engine bay and had a racing seat dash and petrol race tank in the boot etc
He thinks it must of had a big block in it previously- it also has a cut in the passenger front floor we r guessing for the extractors maybe.
Question is could the whole set up be a9x set up including the diff?
I have just brought a repair manual and from what i read only a9x's came out with 4 wheel disc brakes? Is this true? Seems l34 had front discs and rear drums
Can i re weld a lip back in the engine bay ? If so any advice how?
Im a newbie haha any help will be great
Cheers

#2 dattoman

dattoman

Do I feel lucky? Well, do ya, punk?

• Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,461 posts
  • Name:Neil
  • Car:LX SS , 76 Cadillac , 3 x dattos

Posted 23 March 2018 - 08:54 AM

L34 was a banjo and drum rear

Got some pics of the items in question ?

#3 StephenSLR

StephenSLR

Oh My, Don't you post alot

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,707 posts
  • Name:Stephen
  • Car:1976 LX SL/R

Posted 23 March 2018 - 09:56 AM

I read only a9x's came out with 4 wheel disc brakes? Is this true? Seems l34 had front discs and rear drums

Keep in mind Toranas lived through the 80's mod craze and throwing in another rear end, adding rear discs, etc. was not unusual, same goes with putting in a Top Loader, Muncie, etc. There definitely were Toranas with big blocks.