Jump to content


Photo

Convert LC LJ ammeter to voltmeter


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Housecat1977

Housecat1977

    Forum Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 91 posts
  • Name:Paul
  • Location:rAdelaide
  • Car:LC Torana
  • Joined: 08-April 09
Garage View Garage

Posted 10 June 2018 - 11:40 PM

Hi has anyone had any success doing this? If so, how did you do it?

Cheers
Paul

#2 Rockoz

Rockoz

    Lotsa Posts!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,686 posts
  • Name:Rob
  • Location:Sanctuary Point
  • Joined: 21-September 08

Posted 11 June 2018 - 12:06 PM

Probably the best way would be to buy another gauge.

Think you should be able to modify any 50mm gauge to fit.

Not sure how much modification it would take to do it though.

 

You could in theory modify the existing gauge, however because it is a centre zero gauge, it isnt going to be much use.

You would have to change the markings on the face, but wont really be able to do anything with the centre zero.



#3 RallyRed

RallyRed

    Oh My, Don't you post alot

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,006 posts
  • Name:Col
  • Location:NSW
  • Car:LC GTR etc
  • Joined: 02-October 11

Posted 11 June 2018 - 04:49 PM

just a qustion?..why do you want to do it?

#4 limo

limo

    Forum Fixture

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,341 posts
  • Location:Adelaide
  • Car:most Torana models, HQ, Jag, Vauxhall, Moke
  • Joined: 24-May 06

Posted 11 June 2018 - 07:03 PM

A VDO voltmeter fits OK I have one in my LC 4 dr

actually all 4 gauges in it are after market VDO , had them laying around when I put car together

they same as GTR type just diff face



#5 Housecat1977

Housecat1977

    Forum Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 91 posts
  • Name:Paul
  • Location:rAdelaide
  • Car:LC Torana
  • Joined: 08-April 09
Garage View Garage

Posted 11 June 2018 - 09:03 PM

Thanks for the replies guys.
I was just having a late night thought and was wondering how difficult it would be to do.
Wouldn’t bother me too much being a centre reading gauge and I think it would maintain the look of the dash. But, what is the point of having a gauge that can only use half of its scale!
As to why, my car is an S model and I am yet to run the wires for the ammeter, if the voltmeter was a doable option then I would have leaned towards doing that instead.

#6 originalglenn

originalglenn

    Forum Fixture

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 571 posts
  • Location:near bega nsw
  • Joined: 07-November 05

Posted 12 June 2018 - 09:25 AM

You will need to allow for the alternator light some where



#7 I'm a Red Motor fiend

I'm a Red Motor fiend

    Forum Fan

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 411 posts
  • Name:Adam
  • Location:Nairne SA
  • Car:LJ 4 door, LC GTR
  • Joined: 04-January 16
Garage View Garage

Posted 12 June 2018 - 09:43 AM

Same as Limo above, in my four door I replaced the ammeter with a VDO voltmeter. Fits fine.

You will need to allow for the alternator light some where


Been a few years now since I wired the car but from memory I think I used the brake fail warning globe to excite the alternator and shifted the brake fail warning to the same globe as the handbrake warning.
I figured if my brakes fail whilst moving I wouldn't have the handbrake on anyway to get confused.

#8 VDO

VDO

    Forum Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 102 posts
  • Name:Chris Curtis
  • Location:Brisbane QLD
  • Joined: 17-September 14

Posted 12 June 2018 - 12:25 PM

Ive converted LC LJ Amp gauges to Volt gauges.

 

I use the same can for the Amp gauge so as to retain the Ignition lamp and holder.

 

I remove the Amp gauge shunt and install a cross coil VDO Volt gauge movement and the connections are to two bolt connections on the back.

 

I have a dial made for Volt gauge to match the other three.

 

The gauge reads left to right, and looks exactly the same as the others in the cluster.

 

I've also done them for HT HG GTS dash clusters too.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users