Photo

Removing lower bearings from steering column?

• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 Cook

Cook

Forum Fixture

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,502 posts
  • Car:LX Hatch

Posted 09 March 2019 - 11:07 PM

Hi all.  Decided to have a crack at stripping the steering column (LX) and glad i did.  Upper bearing virtually fell out.  But I am having difficulties getting the lower bearing off. The shaft is out of the housing and from what I read once I unscrew the retainer strap the bearing and plastic housing should slide off but mine wont budge.  The bearing rotates freely around the shaft but wont move up or down. I'm guessing the bearing housing is seized to the shaft but I'm no expert and don't want to give it a love tap just yet. Cheers Ron

Edited by Cook, 09 March 2019 - 11:08 PM.

#2 S pack

S pack

Scrivet Counter

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,538 posts
  • Name:Dave
  • Car:73 LJ

Posted 10 March 2019 - 07:55 AM

Hi Ron,

Have you removed the adaptor retaining circlip?

Blue arrow in this pic.

Attached Files

#3 Cook

Cook

Forum Fixture

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,502 posts

Posted 10 March 2019 - 08:59 AM

Yes Dave I have that out. The shaft is out of the housing and all I seem to have is the bearing and plastic housing on the shaft. Here's a pic. Cheers Ron

Attached Files

Edited by Cook, 10 March 2019 - 09:09 AM.

#4 S pack

S pack

Scrivet Counter

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15,538 posts

Posted 10 March 2019 - 10:04 AM

Ok, I was just having a problem working out exactly what you had achieved.

Tap the back of the adaptor with a block of wood or wooden mallet, alternating from side to side, to knock the adaptor and bearing off the shaft.

From memory there is an O-ring sandwiched in between the steering shaft and the inner bearing race. Looks like you also have some corrosion issues helping to stick it on as well.

Be aware the bearing may not survive.