#1 Cook

Cook

Forum Fixture

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,504 posts
  • Car:LX Hatch

Posted 30 December 2020 - 02:49 PM

Hi all.  I have a reco WB dual booster and P7953 master cylinder.  I have stuffed up and had the lines double flared and whilst the front lines seem to seat ok the rear line fitting bottoms out before the flare seats.

My question is can I buy a replacement master cylinder that will take double flared lines and will bolt straight up? Wilwood seem to have a few options but I'm no expert and not sure if these are direct replacements.  I understand that this may be costly but, the alternative is pulling out the lines and remaking them which I am obviously trying to avoid

Is there an adapter that would bolt up to the master and take the double flares?

Are there any other "quick fixes.  No way I can re-flare the lines as they sit and I'm not sure if they should be single or bubble flare. Since that photo was taken the engine and all bolt-ons have been assembled.

Help and thanks as always. Cheers Ron

Attached Files

#2 dron

dron

Forum Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 126 posts
  • Name:Darren
  • Car:UC
Garage View Garage

Posted 30 December 2020 - 05:10 PM

Hi

Just checked my spair (new) wb master, It needs a "ball" flair on all pipes.

Best just reflair them all if you want reliable brakes.  Back when we ran valves in the outlet for drum brakes i think there was a brass incert that went into the port for the rear brakes, Dont rember if it would help or not, The last time i worked with this valve was to remove it on an old drum to disk conversion a lot of years ago.

#3 Cook

Cook

Forum Fixture

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,504 posts

Posted 30 December 2020 - 05:24 PM

Thanks Darren, thought that was the case re "ball" flares.  Given where I am at, I'm hoping there is other options other than having to effectively re-do the lines, as you can see from the pic re-flaring itself isn't going to happen.  Cheers Ron