Bruiser

Forum Fixture

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 709 posts
  • Name:Bruce
  • Car:FC Holden, VK Commodore, - Ex torana owner

Posted 07 August 2023 - 07:08 PM

I have had my dizzy in and out at least 10 times in the last few months due to discovering my old recurved- and by someone who knew what they were doing - dizzy had worn out. I mentioned it in my engine upgrade thread and thought I might report my findings in case they were useful or informative to anyone.
Big fat disclaimer: up front
I am far from an expert on this subject, I am sure there are many here who can add more to this info and give input to improve your results and more importantly **** prevent anyone from doing damage to their engines as result of my backyard methods.
The only thing I have ever seen about this is in rodomo’s brilliant thread about his commodore race car, so I thought I might throw my 3 cents in
If I can add anything to that, cool.
And if anyone more knowledgeable than me can add to this, please do
I read everything I could find about this, mostly American forums on chevelle, corvette and V8 sites saying to get the advance in as soon as possible before pinging. Start the advance just after idle, and get it all in as quick as possible, quoting numbers for total as early as 2400, and then the usual 3000ish.
I fiddled and ended up with mine in at 2000. No good. Not pinging, but no power up top.
Just been back into it to correct my now obvious balls up, and aim for closer to 3000.
The important thing here is to know what the engine needs first, and I am still learning there.
I took pics this time to show some stuff.

Here she is in the vice. I lined up the rotor arm with no.1 lead in the dizz before removing it from engine.
Then you can stick it back in in the same spot with no disasters.
you have one of these electronic numbers, line up the 6 points inside the dizz right on to be sure.
Take note, too. I write it all down and draw pictures too