Stereo won't start since..

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 _misszilla_

_misszilla_
  • Guests

Posted 03 October 2007 - 06:40 PM

I had a few things fixed on my LH today by my Dad's friend, (kickdown part replacement, engine tune up, etc etc..) Except the old fella must have knocked a wire out somewhere because my stereo that was originally connected to the ignition won't start at all anymore.

I had a look around and everything seems to look okay, but then again I'm not a real pro with these things.

Any ideas on what's wrong? Or how I can fix it? Or anyone in brisbane wanna fix it? :P

Any help would be greatly appreciated

#2 _MRNOS_

_MRNOS_
  • Guests

Posted 03 October 2007 - 06:43 PM

Inline fuse blown to the stereo?

#3 _rhysandhisLJ_

_rhysandhisLJ_
  • Guests

Posted 03 October 2007 - 06:44 PM

Hey misszilla,

Check the ground connection firstly, if that's ok get a test light/multimeter and test you have ignition power and a permanent source of power (two seperate cables). If you have the ground, ignition, and permanent power then it should run correctly.

Cheers,
Rhys.

Edited by lxsl76, 03 October 2007 - 06:45 PM.

#4 _misszilla_

_misszilla_
  • Guests

Posted 03 October 2007 - 06:56 PM

The fuses are all okay, so that's not the problem..

Rhys, How would I go about about using a test light/multimeter? The other accessories connected to the ignition (fan, wipers, gauges etc.) all still work correctly. Oh.. and how do I check the ground connection as well? How do I do everything? I'm a bit of a n00b with these things.. ha ha

#5 _rhysandhisLJ_

_rhysandhisLJ_
  • Guests

Posted 03 October 2007 - 07:13 PM

First of all get yourself a 12volt test light, or a cheap multimeter, you can get ones for $15 that will do the job, from your local autostore, REPCO etc.