Need help with V8 conversion

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 _LHwannabeV8_

_LHwannabeV8_
  • Guests

Posted 06 February 2006 - 11:37 AM

Gday I have just bought a LH with a warm 202 for my future first car. At the moment it has a worked head, Holley 500, diff work, 4 speed, exhaust and extractors, racing seats, SLR-5000 flare kit�etc.
I was hoping to drop a 253 or 308 into it within the next year before I get my licence. I was wondering what is a cheap and hassle free option. I am an apprentice so I have the workshop and tools available to help I guess. Can I just drop in HQ running gear in or do I have to get Torana engine mounts to go in? If anyone could help I would be appreciative and grateful. Also if anyone in Victoria (Melbourne/ Hastings area) has any parts that they want to sell that might be helpful as well.

Cheers Anthony

#2 _Yella SLuR_

_Yella SLuR_
  • Guests

Posted 06 February 2006 - 02:40 PM

Not sure about the engine mounts, you will need a Torana sump and oil pickup though. HQ extractors/exhaust are also no good for you, too much space on those big boats compared to the torries.

If you running the six, a Holley 500 is way too big (prolly is a 465). Holley 350 should be the goods on a 202.

#3 ToRunYa

ToRunYa

No Longer A Contributing Ninja/Member.

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,073 posts
  • Name:Em

Posted 06 February 2006 - 03:58 PM

i wasnt gonna say anything but im with yella, sorta looked sideways at the holley 500. Find a mate with a 350 and give that a go. Might change ya mind about the 308 :)

#4 ToRunYa

ToRunYa

No Longer A Contributing Ninja/Member.

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,073 posts
  • Name:Em

Posted 08 February 2006 - 10:29 AM

it was a few years ago when i done the conversion, anyone who has done the conversion latley got some help for this fellow torry owner? my memory is shot and i can type out what i remember but 5 minutes later ill remember something else and so on.

#5 _Yella SLuR_