New engine for SLR 3300

• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 _darrenmark1_

_darrenmark1_
  • Guests

Posted 26 April 2009 - 11:05 PM

I have to pull the 202 out of the sons SLR and make it new. I would say it is standard bore.

What should i do to it?

It has to go very well but not stupid, i have never done a six before and I'm sure plenty of you guys have
so your advice would be great.

Crank?
Rods?
Pistons?
Cam????
Pushrods?
Head????
Valves?
Rollers?
Carb's. (want triples)
Headers?

It is a 4 speed manual.
I want to start collecting parts etc, anyone got any triples that would be good, i see em on ebay and have no idea what I'm looking at.

Thanks
Darren

#2 _oldjohnno_

_oldjohnno_
  • Guests

Posted 27 April 2009 - 07:11 AM

I have to pull the 202 out of the sons SLR and make it new. I would say it is standard bore.

What should i do to it?

It has to go very well but not stupid, i have never done a six before and I'm sure plenty of you guys have
so your advice would be great.

Crank?
Rods?
Pistons?
Cam????
Pushrods?
Head????
Valves?
Rollers?
Carb's. (want triples)
Headers?

It is a 4 speed manual.
I want to start collecting parts etc, anyone got any triples that would be good, i see em on ebay and have no idea what I'm looking at.

Thanks
Darren

Stock crank
Zero deck the block when you get it bored
Blue/Black/Starfire rods
ACL Race series pistons are nice but you can use cheaper ones for a streeter. Aim for 10:1-10.5:1 with your piston/head combo (PULP)
230 - 240deg @ 0.50" cam (solid)
Pushrods to suit valvegear
YT style 9 port head, 1.7 & 1.48 valves, but don't use one that's been overly hogged out
Std adjustable rockers are ok but check the usual spots for clearance, YT rollers are nicer
1-3/4" triple SUs
1-1/2" primary pipe extractors, 2-1/2" exhaust
Also use HEI dissy and coil from blue six

#3 yel327

yel327

Oh My, Don't you post alot

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,094 posts

Posted 27 April 2009 - 07:38 AM