The Brock racing days

• Please log in to reply
69 replies to this topic

#1 _HAFF_

_HAFF_
  • Guests

Posted 29 June 2011 - 10:10 PM

Iv been watching some old bathurst footage lately as i find it more engaging than the current day v8 supercars. As i didnt come around till a little over a decade after the A9X's ripped around the track i have little knowledge of how it was back then. What i wanted to know was about the rules, and regulations of racing back then, what did brocky run in his A9X? was it a realy beefed up 5L? or was it more close to stock? what was the restrictions on what they could do to the cars? were the Diff and gearbox's the same as you would get in your torana at the dealership?

#2 EunUCh

EunUCh

Lotsa Posts!

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,761 posts
  • Car:japos

Posted 30 June 2011 - 06:20 AM

yeah i like some of that old footage as well,i never had anything to do with the cars myself
but a good freind did have.He was involvded with helping set up an A9x back in the 80s
and from memory the gbox/diff were stock and the drivers had to be carefull with
them,some one correct me if i am wrong.I do remember reading in an old street machine
mag.and vaugley remember seeing an article where they had 2 downdraft webers on some.
not sure about internals but i think early in the peace they had to run the stock single
row timming chain.Hope thats a start,there will be someone here that will know heaps
more about it.

Edited by NOBALLSUC, 30 June 2011 - 06:21 AM.

#3 Dr Terry

Dr Terry

Technical + Numbers Guru + Moderator

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,279 posts

Posted 30 June 2011 - 08:47 AM

You could write a whole book on this topic, but I'll try & summarise how it was back then.

Up until 1972 there were 2 categories for 'touring cars'.

At Bathurst & a few other tracks (beginning in 1960 at Philip Island) they held races for 'Series Production Cars'