v8 in uc torana

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 _lx304hatch_

_lx304hatch_
  • Guests

Posted 27 November 2012 - 09:37 PM

can any one help me ?
when converting uc into v8 from 202 do motor reg need an engineer to sign it off?
or is it the same as when you change a lx torana from 6 to 8 you just need to get an inspection with out in engineer

any one that knows the system would be of great help to me

will call and claify tommorow other wise

thanks

#2 _LC_138_

_LC_138_
  • Guests

Posted 28 November 2012 - 08:08 AM

I'm by no means an expert on the subject, but to the best of my knowledge if that model came out with the motor you're putting in then it used to be just a change of engine number with the rego office. If you were changing to a different motor type, or one that wasn't in the car originally then it had to be engineered.

#3 _lx304hatch_

_lx304hatch_
  • Guests

Posted 28 November 2012 - 12:52 PM

that is also my understanding but due to UC not coming out with v8 im a little worrie ill need to pay for an engineer

#4 _greenmachine215_

_greenmachine215_
  • Guests

Posted 28 November 2012 - 01:23 PM

Give it a crack at motor rev, just fill out the change of engine number form, had it in and you'll either get a new rego slip with new engine number or a letter saying it will need to go for a run over the pits either way it doesn't cost a thing and you will get a new engine no, or a date with regency if you choose to go,

Or just keep it reg as a 6 cyl, lol it's cheaper

Good luck with it

#5 _tyre fryer_

_tyre fryer_
  • Guests

Posted 02 December 2012 - 01:04 PM

Ben aka UNVSM8 from these forums did exactly what you speak of and all it took was an engine swap form (from memory of what he told me anyway) but it was more to do with the fact that the car was recognised as an LX or something to that effect.
Flick him a PM and see what he says.
heres the link to his profile
http://www.gmh-torana.com.au/forums/user/4122-unvsm8/