Chemical dipping

• Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 _sloffador_

_sloffador_
  • Guests

Posted 01 July 2013 - 02:02 PM

Hey Guys

Has anyone had any thing to do with acid dipping to get rid of rust and paint removal

Im thinking of getting it done but have had mixed reports on this

Any help or ideas would be appreciated

#2 GML-31

GML-31

Oh My, Don't you post alot

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,239 posts
  • Name:Kev
  • Car:too many

Posted 01 July 2013 - 04:46 PM

I would prefer molasses dipping if it was me

#3 _sjp67m_

_sjp67m_
  • Guests

Posted 01 July 2013 - 07:37 PM

Im no expert but some forum memebers have raised a problem with dipping... what about the areas that arent able to be painted properly like inside or sills ect but have had contact with the acid ?

#4 Uncle Chop Chop

Uncle Chop Chop

Grumpy Old Man

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,409 posts
  • Name:John

Posted 01 July 2013 - 09:51 PM

Unblock the drain holes.

#5 _sloffador_

_sloffador_
  • Guests

Posted 01 July 2013 - 10:12 PM

Yeh I thought about the parts that coudnt be painted

But isn't that the way they started out anyway, wernt they originally sprayed not dipped so paint woundnt have got to these parts anyway

#6 _sjp67m_

_sjp67m_
  • Guests

Posted 01 July 2013 - 10:19 PM

Yeh I thought about the parts that coudnt be painted
But isn't that the way they started out anyway, wernt they originally sprayed not dipped so paint woundnt have got to these parts anyway

Yes but now they have been stripped (basically bare metaled and left exposed)

#7 Pop's-SS

Pop's-SS

Pops

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,963 posts
  • Name:Barry
  • Car:1976 Mandarin Red SS Hatchback

Posted 12 July 2013 - 04:24 PM

I would prefer molasses dipping if it was me

Dip me in molasses and feed me to the virgins :party:

Would never use acid dipping as said, it would get into places you can't see and rust even more.