madtoranajzedded

Sir ask alot

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,891 posts
  • Name:Maz
  • Car:72 LJ SL SEDAN.

Posted 14 October 2014 - 07:31 PM

hi guys .my ole man wants me to paint his poppy trailer its about 4o ft lol and 10ft sides.he doesnt sort of realise that

there is a bit more involved than just slapping it straight over the top.first thing comes to my mind is will have to get iso

free stuff for health reasons.its already painted in some industrial enamel with no hardener.can you paint straight over

the top the top and what grade wetndry should i use.and what psi should i set the gun at.will most likely have to buy gun and everything as he wouldnt have a clue lol and ive only half a clue haha

Maz

#2 _NewsuxLX_

_NewsuxLX_
  • Guests

Posted 14 October 2014 - 08:20 PM

Hi maz. Im no expert painter but im thinkin that 2 pac over enamel sounds like a recipe for disaster and all round badness. Im pretty sure the only thing u can paint over enamel is ... Enamel And to have any chance of painting over it, it would have to be really really old paint. Its not the paint that reacts but the thinners. Hopefully somebody else can help you out.

#3 madtoranajzedded

madtoranajzedded

Sir ask alot

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,891 posts

Posted 14 October 2014 - 08:30 PM

hi jake.thanks for that info.i wasnt too sure meself.was thinking 2pac was like enamel.the trailer was painted about 5 yr ago by the ol fella and he was telling me it went on streaky.he mixed the ratio like 1 to 1 1/2 thinners lol when it should of been about 10 percent .so say if i seal the last coat could i go 2pac .would it have to be 2pac primer or ?

#4 dattoman

dattoman

Do I feel lucky? Well, do ya, punk?

• Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16,471 posts
  • Name:Neil
  • Car:LX SS , 76 Cadillac , 3 x dattos

Posted 14 October 2014 - 08:34 PM

I have a car here which was painted in enamel

5 or so years later it was redone in 2 pac