- - - - -

soon to titivate a torana

• Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1 _Hurricane_

_Hurricane_
  • Guests

Posted 12 December 2005 - 09:37 PM

hey everyone im just about to get my car in january and i am turning 17 next august i am planning to get a manual lx hatch and drop a 308 in it with a 4 or 5 speed (undecided) and i am planing minor mads such as full 3 inch exaust and extractors with a twin or 4 barrel holley carberator( undecided as i am new into the v8 world used to be a shitty ricer burner kid but now i am with the big boys :) lol ) and lumpy cams.... what do you think ... any recomendations would be very helpfull as i am new to the v8's???

#2 _ChiaLX_

_ChiaLX_
  • Guests

Posted 12 December 2005 - 09:46 PM

Good to see a new bloke getting into toranas. :)
I would go a twin system exhaust not a single 3" as they tend to drone a bit and get annoying IMHO. other than that sounds like a good start.
Good luck
Mick
Also go the 4 barrel .unless you want economy.

#3 _Hurricane_

_Hurricane_
  • Guests

Posted 12 December 2005 - 09:50 PM

cool thanks mate ye i meant twin also look bad ass with both tips out the back :D how much do you rekon id be lookin at there for the engine gear box and all mods im trying to keep to a budgjet of 5000 seeing as im on apprenticeship money but if that some how creeps towards ten ill just have to work harder :lol:

#4 _ChiaLX_

_ChiaLX_
  • Guests

Posted 12 December 2005 - 10:20 PM

How long is a piece of string??
Its a bit hard to say, new exhaust and extractors would fetch close to $800 or more depending on muffler choice and mild or stainless steel etc. second hand donk could be from $ 300 to ??? depending on what is done to it . gearboxes $150 up depending on M20, muncie, etc . 5 speed will generally be more than a four speed.
Maybe try and get a half decent motor and box for about $1000 to $2000 and work on it fron ther.