Forum Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 161 posts
  • Name:Adam
  • Car:73 LJ S

Posted 16 April 2023 - 09:19 PM

Hi everyone, 

I am about to start putting my Kframe back together and have a question (or 2) for the suspension gurus. 

I’ve been collecting bits for my car for 30+ years. I’m the second owner and car has been off the road about 30 years!!! 

First question.  I have a heap of brand new suspension components, stored in the house, for the best part of 30 years.  Brand new GMH bushes, Brand new adjustable Koni’s front and rear and new Superpro bushes.  The GMH stuff looks and feels like new… should I use them?  My local Peddersdealer said bin the lot and start again.  My worry is locally made 30 year old bushes might still be better that brand new China crap ( or the Chinese crap that probably makes up the components in new stuff made locally). I have 4 of the big bushes. I won’t be using them in the  diff  as I have gone adjustable trailing arms.  

Second Question is to do with the steering rack.  The tie rods look and feel good and tight. My rack still has boots in one piece and has about the factory quantity of oil. The wear surfaces are smooth with no grooves or lips.  While I’m rebuilding ( well, servicing ) the rack, do I swap them out for New Rares ones I have or keep the originals? (Tie rods, not boots…I’ll swap the boots out regardless). 

Cost isnt really an issue, I don’t really want to be pulling the front end in and out again!!! 

Attached Files

#2 jpxu1

jpxu1

Forum Fixture

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 549 posts

Posted 16 April 2023 - 10:20 PM

For the bushes, I would get new Mackay ones- not that dear and still rubber like the originals. If your rack boots are still ok I would be re-using them - the repro ones aren't right on the small ends - the groove for the clamp (even the cable tie they come with now) isn't big enough and has to be manually cut, APITA!

#3 S pack

S pack

Scrivet Counter

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip