- - - - -

Torana hatch in California...

• Please log in to reply
794 replies to this topic

#1 _LS1 Hatch_

_LS1 Hatch_
  • Guests

Posted 08 February 2011 - 01:19 PM

Thought I'd introduce myself....my name is Jeff and I'm from Garden Grove (So.Cal) in the US, and I came across a thread here California LS1 hatch and thought I'd join up to thank folks for the good words about my car, and just hang out and see what there is to learn, etc as well!

I'm an exporter and work with a mate in Lilydale (Eastern suburbs of Melbourne of course) and have been there a heap of times for decent periods of time too, so pretty familiar with things...I'm an exporter by trade too...shipping stuff over there (and back here now and then as well of course) and aside from my Torana I've brought over a heap of Valiants here (I was really into Mopars originally here) and another couple Torrie hatchbacks besides my red one (which I have had over here since around early 2000 or so)

As for my car and what I've done to it....well, I've done just about everything I could think of so far.. :lol:

It started out as a 253/4 speed car which I did a cam swap, extractors and a few other little things and drove it around that way for years..the engine was getting abit tired, and after building an blown LS1,6 speed '69 Camaro (that was for my mate there) I got the LS1 bug...(and my daily driver for a few years was a 2000 Camaro SS convertable) so I pulled the 253 out of the Torana and just went at it.

I paint stripped the engine bay to bare metal (it was mint) to start with and just primered it and rolled the car into the garage. I looked around a little to find a good low mile LS1/T56 donor, and after finding one I went ahead and built mounts, modified the trans tunnel for room, etc.