New Front End

• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 _ivekilledem_

_ivekilledem_
  • Guests

Posted 19 July 2012 - 02:57 PM

Okay, I've never done this before. So I've been told I'm being too ambitious, but hey! You have to start somewhere so you can learn from your mistakes.
I was in a crash not too long ago and now the car needs a new front end. I was paid out by the insurance company because they weren't willing to pay cost of fixing it. So I have now taken it on board to fix it myself.
I found a cheap one on ebay and I bought it (still waiting to pick it up). It has a few problems with it and will need to be stripped back to bare metal.
The very end of the left chassis rail was bent out a little, and I have been told that I will need a big hammer and an oxy, which dad is sourcing for me.
I work for a smash repairer doing a lot of odd jobs, assembly, disassembly, cleaning/detailing, paint prep etc. So I have a fairly basic understanding in what I am doing and have support if need be.
The car has a few small spots of rust in it here and there (the usual spots) that will need cleaning up shortly. I have plenty of time on my hands (surprisingly) and want to learn.
My plan is to straighten on all the panels that need it as much as I can. I want to use as little bog as possible so, things could take a while.
I however don't have experience in welding, panel re-shaping, and painting. But, as I said you have to start somewhere.

I had some things arrive in the mail today.

[Will post pictures when photobucket comes back from maintenance.]

#2 hanra

hanra

Oh My, Don't you post alot

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,840 posts
  • Name:Brad
  • Car:1975 LH SL/R 5000, 1967 Morris Cooper S, E36 BMW, Toyota Corolla, Isuzu DMax

Posted 19 July 2012 - 03:08 PM

What sort of car is this in regards to?

#3 _ivekilledem_

_ivekilledem_
  • Guests

Posted 19 July 2012 - 03:15 PM

What sort of car is this in regards to?

WB Ute